NJ uncontested divorce rules and guidelines includes a filing process and some basic paper work filling on certain grounds under which the couples seeks divorce. Unlike some other state, New Jersey divorce law requires more than a step-by-step guide for “do it yourself divorce” filers and a complete overview must be presented in front of the court in order to obtain an uncontested divorce. The spouse filing for the divorce is called Plaintiff and the one who responds to the action is called Defendant. The divorce action can be filed in any of the county court in New Jersey under the Supreme Court’s Chancery Division, Family Part.
According to NJ uncontested divorce rules and guidelines, in order to file for an uncontested divorce in New Jersey there are certain requirements that must be met:
1) At least one of the spouses must hold a residency certificate in New Jersey for a minimum of 1 year
2) Unless the divorce is declared, at least one of the spouses must stay in New Jersey
3) Both the spouses must agree in terms of child support and custody
4) Both the spouses must agree in terms of property distribution and division.
NJ uncontested divorce rules and guidelines involve 5 simple steps to obtain an uncontested divorce quicker:
* Filing a verified complaint to the court to stipulate the divorce action
* Serving notice to the defendant with Summon letter that renders the Defendant a 35 days time period to reply back
* Mutual negotiation with the Defendant regarding division of property and child support. In NJ, couples may hasten of the negotiation procedure using the guidelines of Early Settlement Panels (ESPs)
* Reaching for the final settlement with the Defendant
* Asking the court for a final hearing provided all the terms are agreed upon by both parties.
Uncontested Divorce – If you and your spouse have agreed to an amicable separation and simply need to finalize your agreement through an uncontested divorce in NJ, contact a family lawyer at the law offices of Chase & Chase.